First Draft Route… Melbourne – Canberra – Sydney

I’ve been thinking about my big cycle non-stop over the past few days, and I’ve been eager to get my route sorted out. I’m still waiting on a map taking me from Adelaide to Melbourne, so I’ve decided to crack on without it for now and work backwards once I have it.

I’ve been throwing around the idea recently of not bothering with Canberra because from what I’ve heard there doesn’t seem to be that much going on and there is no real direct route to the city, but from a bit of reading I’ve found that to be not true! I’m big into my history, so to name a few places I’d like to visit they’d be Parliament House, the Australian War Museum and the National Botanical Gardens. I’ve even found a main road that takes me there meaning it’s a place I must factor in, if you guys have any suggestions for activities then please do let me know.

My provisional route in picture format can be found below.

Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 18.55.47

I want to do the full route in good time so I’ve been looking for direct routes from city to city that I can cane out in a few days but see some new sights along the way. I’ve kept myself close to the coast for decent chunks of it, passed some epic looking lakes, gone through some nice woodland areas, and hit the highways to eat up some mileage on the way. This is just a provisional route so please feel free to comment any suggestions for changes that’ll make the route a little more interesting but not add too much distance on.

The route with estimated kilometers goes as follows…

Largely following the Princess Highway until Cann River, then following the Monaro (Cann Valley) Highway to Canberra.

Day

Start

Finish

Distance (km)

1

Melbourne

Traralgon

161

2

Traralgon

Lakes Entrance

153

3

Lakes Entrance

Cann River

142

4

Cann River

Cooma

173

5

Cooma

Canberra

106

Once out of Canberra, I’ll be leaving via the Federal Highway and join the Hume Highway to Sydney.

Day

Start

Finish

Distance (km)

1

Canberra

Moss Vale

163

2

Moss Vale

Sydney

127

Remember guys, this is a provisional route, feedback more than welcome 🙂

Gary

5 thoughts on “First Draft Route… Melbourne – Canberra – Sydney

  1. There is a route between Adelaide and Melbourne called the Great Ocean Road, which is one of the great Australian touring routes. Not very direct, though.

    The road between Lakes Entrance and Cann River is pretty mountainous and winding (as you can see from your topo map). Not sure if you are factoring that into your mileage. It’s also fairly narrow and full of logging trucks!

    • The maps I have are all road maps and don’t have contour lines on so I can’t see anything like mountainous regions. I’ll have a think about the stopping areas again, dies the route look ok though?

      The Great Ocean Road is world famous, had no idea it was there. That’s a definite road that I want to follow 🙂

      • Get yourself a topographical map before you set your heart on any particular route.

        Personally, I would do the dramatic-ocean-view, pretty-coastal-town thing on the Great Ocean Road, and then head up the Hume Highway from Melbourne to Canberra. That way you’d have relatively flat country most of the way, plus see the coast as well as a bit of inland farming country. Unless there are bits of the south-east coast that you really want to see. I don’t know the Melbourne to Albury portion well at all, but between Albury and Canberra there are some interesting towns with their own histories along that route, such as Holbrook and Gundagai. You would have to miss Cooma and the high country, though, which would be a shame.

        You just can’t see it all – you’ll have to make some choices!

      • I like the idea of it being a flatter route, looking at my map though the Hume Highway doesn’t go anywhere near the coast? Would you follow the highway then head down the Barton Highway into Canberra?

        If this was a once in a lifetime opportunity for you, would you prefer the Hume or Princess route?

        Tough question I know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

